City Council

Temp Council Header 2
  1. Upcoming Meetings
  2. Meeting Agendas
  3. Watch Council Meetings Live

Forest Lake City Council

The Forest Lake City Council is composed of a mayor and four councilmembers who are elected at large. The mayor serves a two-year term of office and the Councilmembers serve four-year staggered terms. The City Council legislates for the city and sets administrative policy.  The City Council meets on the second and fourth Monday of the month and holds a workshop on the third Monday.  

  1. Mara Bain

    Mayor Mara Bain was elected to the office in 2018 and serves on the City of Forest Lake EDA, Finance Committee, Fire Board, and Personnel Committee.  In addition, Mara is liaison to the Cable Commission, Human Rights Commission, and I35 Task Force

    Council Member Bain will serve a 2-year term through 2020

  2. Sam Husnik

    Council Member Sam Husnik was elected in 2016. Sam also serves on the Airport Commission, Economic Development Authority, Fire Board, Watershed District, and as a liaison to the Forest Lake Area School District and Watershed District.

    Council Member Husnik will serve a 4-year term through 2020.

  3. Councilmember Bystrom

    Kathy Bystrom

    Council Member Kathy Bystrom was elected to the City Council in 2018 and serves on the Finance Committee.  In addition, Kathy serves as the council liaison to the Fenway Athletic Advisory Board, Parks Lakes & Trails Commission, Senior Citizen Board, and YMCA Board.

    Council Member Bystrom will serve a 4-year term through 2022.

  4. Councilmember Monson

    Kelly Monson

    Council Member Kelly Mosnon was elected in 2018 and serves on the Rush Line Corridor.  In addition Kelly serves as council liaison to the Planning Commission, FLAA Board, and Fenway Athletic Advisory Board.

    Council Member Monson will serve a 4-year term through 2020.

  5. City Council